Reverse Instruction Update

I started uploading a few video tutorials for my classes. The first one is a screencast on how to make an avatar in Photoshop using fonts & layers (a variation of my 4th grade lesson, “Typeface Face”). The second one is a value scale tutorial, which is scaffolding for a larger colored pencil unit. I decided to play the value tutorial for each class, and got solid positive responses each time. In fact, some classes applauded! I heard students say, “This is so cool!” Some students responded to my voice in the video and answered questions I asked as I was drawing. All in all, the “digital natives” were engaged! So now, I’m wondering where else I can pop-in tutorials, but definitely not overuse it. I think that having students acclimated to visiting my website for the “summer symbaloo” I uploaded was a big plus. Possibly, a simple animation video and definitely a perspective one. I hope to have students film them because trying to draw with one hand and film with the other was difficult..

~ by lgirbino on September 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
